Jump to content

Recovery Partition is Accessible to Reading and Writing Files

  • PrintPrint

Description

The Recovery partition is accessible for reading and writing files to, and deleting files from. If you double-click the Recovery partition from My Computer, the following warning message appears:
This area of your hard disk (or partition) contains files used for your system recovery. Do not delete or alter these files. Any change to this partition could prevent any recovery later.
If you right-click and choose Explore you do not get this warning and have full access to the partition.

Resolution

This is as designed. HP recommends that you avoid making changes to existing files/directories and do not store additional data on the Recovery partition.

HP Support forums

Find solutions and collaborate with others on the HP Support Forum
HP.comHP on FacebookHP on TwitterHP on YouTubeHP on Linked InHP on FlickrHP on Google+